Thursday, March 28, 2013

Blackout by Mira Grant

Blackout by Mira Grant
2012, Orbit
Series: Book 3 of Newsflesh Trilogy

Synopsis: Rise up while you can. -Georgia Mason

The year was 2014. The year we cured cancer. The year we cured the common cold. And the year the dead started to walk. The year of the Rising.

The year was 2039. The world didn't end when the zombies came, it just got worse. Georgia and Shaun Mason set out on the biggest story of their generation. They uncovered the biggest conspiracy since the Rising and realized that to tell the truth, sacrifices have to be made.

Now, the year is 2041, and the investigation that began with the election of President Ryman is much bigger than anyone had assumed. With too much left to do and not much time left to do it in, the surviving staff of After the End Times must face mad scientists, zombie bears, rogue government agencies-and if there's one thing they know is true in post-zombie America, it's this:

Things can always get worse.

The Good: Blackout ends the Newsflesh Trilogy with the same action and emotion that existed throughout the entire series. It's not often you find a trilogy where all of the books are absolute perfection and Newsflesh is definitely that. Even more, I find myself needing to read the short stories and novellas that go along with this trilogy, which has NEVER happened before. Not because the series needs more, as it was written in a completely satisfying way, but because I don't want to let go of the world and characters. Absolutely amazing in every way, Blackout ends the trilogy in mind-blowing fashion.

The Bad: Only that the series couldn't go on forever.

No comments :

Post a Comment