Thursday, August 15, 2013

Angel: After the Fall, Vol. 1 by Brian Lynch

Angel: After the Fall, Vol. 1 by Brian Lynch
2008, IDW Publishing
Series: Book 1 of Angel: After the Fall

Synopsis: In Angel's final television season, his world ended... but his story didn't. Picking up where Season Five of the fan-favorite TV show left off, this first collection looks at who lived after that climactic battle, who died, and what happened to all of Los Angeles in its wake.

The Good: A continuation of Angel was desperately needed and I'm glad IDW was there to give fans that. A beloved series ending on a huge cliffhanger needs closure of some sort.

The Bad: I read Buffy, Season 8, before starting Angel: After the Fall and that ended up being a huge strike against this Angel series. Dark Horse did such an  unbelievable job continuing Buffy that I expected the same type of continuity and follow though here. Unfortunately, when the TV series ended on such an open possibility, fans like myself wanted to know what happened to our favorite characters immediately. And this didn't happen. What we are told is in bits and pieces, like a mystery to what happened as opposed to the continuation of where we left off. The fates of some of the characters are still murky at best and the story seems to be going no where fast.

No comments :

Post a Comment