Monday, April 28, 2014

Lament by Maggie Stiefvater

Lament by Maggie Stiefvater
2008, Flux
Series: Book 1 of Books of Faerie

Synopsis: Sixteen-year-old Deirdre Monaghan is a painfully shy but prodigiously gifted musician. She's about to find out she's also a cloverhand—one who can see faeries. Deirdre finds herself infatuated with a mysterious boy who enters her ordinary suburban life, seemingly out of thin air. Trouble is, the enigmatic and gorgeous Luke turns out to be a gallowglass—a soulless faerie assassin. An equally hunky—and equally dangerous—dark faerie soldier named Aodhan is also stalking Deirdre. Sworn enemies, Luke and Aodhan each have a deadly assignment from the Faerie Queen. Namely, kill Deirdre before her music captures the attention of the Fae and threatens the Queen's sovereignty. Caught in the crossfire with Deirdre is James, her wisecracking but loyal best friend. Deirdre had been wishing her life weren't so dull, but getting trapped in the middle of a centuries-old faerie war isn't exactly what she had in mind . . .

The Good: I wish I had picked this book up sooner. It is a really fun faerie read. The book is packed with faerie lore and Dee is an actually rational heroine. She seems to think things through and questions what's happening to her life. There was a bit of the cliched instalove going on here, as well as an love triangle that never convincingly got off the ground, but overall Dee managed herself well in these situations.

The Bad: The ending was sort of a twist, which is usually great. Except it was more confusing than anything else. Maybe it's needed for the next book, but it wasn't satisfying or exciting.

No comments :

Post a Comment