Friday, September 18, 2015

The Book of Life by Deborah Harkness

  The Book of Life by Deborah Harkness
2014, Viking Adult
Series: Book 3 of All Souls Trilogy

Synopsis: After traveling through time in Shadow of Night, the second book in Deborah Harkness’s enchanting series, historian and witch Diana Bishop and vampire scientist Matthew Clairmont return to the present to face new crises and old enemies. At Matthew’s ancestral home at Sept-Tours, they reunite with the cast of characters from A Discovery of Witches--with one significant exception. But the real threat to their future has yet to be revealed, and when it is, the search for Ashmole 782 and its missing pages takes on even more urgency. In the trilogy’s final volume, Harkness deepens her themes of power and passion, family and caring, past deeds and their present consequences. In ancestral homes and university laboratories, using ancient knowledge and modern science, from the hills of the Auvergne to the palaces of Venice and beyond, the couple at last learn what the witches discovered so many centuries ago.

The Good: Diana and Matthew's journey has been epic, through time and space. The ending of their story is just what you'd expect - magnificent. These books are written beautifully, detailed without dragging and realistically emotional. I would have never expected a love story between a witch and a vampire to feel like such a serious, important book. I love how intelligently this series was written, educational, yet entertaining with the academic details. The ending was all I could have ever hoped for and more. All my questions were answered and I am at peace with the characters and their world.

The Bad: Not a thing.

No comments :

Post a Comment