Monday, January 25, 2016

The Walking Dead, Vol. 18: What Comes After by Robert Kirkman

What Comes After by Robert Kirkman
2013, Image Comics
Series: Book 18 of The Walking Dead


Synopsis: Following the events of "Something to Fear," Rick and the other survivors start their new life under Negan and the Savior's rule...but not everyone agrees to go along. Also, who is Ezekiel? And why does he have a tiger?

The Good: Negan's absolutely more vicious than the Governor, and infinitely more entertaining. He's psycho quality crazy and it's surprisingly hysterical. He's positioned himself as lord and master of his own uniquely off-kilter society, one that I couldn't get enough details about. This story arc is quite possibly Kirkman's finest.

The Bad: The most unbelievable thing in this entire series isn't the zombies or even the pet tiger introduced in this volume, it's that Carl has managed to survive past the first few days of the zombie apocalypse. He just refuses to listen to any sort of authority, refuses to stay in a relatively safe environment and refuses to use any type of common sense. Carl is no longer a child. He should absolutely know better. He should be dead fifteen times over by now. He's annoying and almost always puts others in danger when they are forced to rescue him from whatever stupid position he's put himself into. Good, smart, useful people keep dying. Why can't Carl die? We know Kirkman has no qualms about killing off kids, so why are constantly subjected to Carl's idiocy?

No comments :

Post a Comment